Some classic rock heavy hitters are on the short list for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2012.

Pete Townshend, Steve Miller and Gordon Lightfoot are all waiting to have their ticket punched for 2012, but they aren't alone and they have some pretty stiff competetition. Bob Seger, Lou Reed, Dion and Blondie are also in line.

Grahm Gouldman from 10cc fame was also named as a possible inductee. Though his group only had one hit, he wrote songs for a number of groups including: The Hollies, The Yardbirds and Jeff Beck. Meatloaf's song writing partner Jim Steinman also got a nod, but he is nominated in the Non-Performing Songwriter category.

Ballots are due December 12.