UNDATED (WJON News) -- Now that the snow is melting, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources is set to enact burning restrictions in a number of central Minnesota counties.

Starting Monday, the Twin Cities metro counties of Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Hennepin, Ramsey, and Washington will be under open burning restrictions.

On Wednesday, the DNR is adding Benton, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, and Wright counties.

The DNR will not issue permits for the open burning of brush or yard waste due to the dry conditions. Burning restrictions will be adjusted as conditions change.

103.7 The Loon logo
Get our free mobile app

In the meantime, residents are encouraged to look at alternatives like composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site.

The DNR says 90% of wildfires are caused by humans.





LOOK: These Are the Richest NFL players

To uncover the richest NFL players, Stacker consulted Celebrity Net Worth and ranked them by their 2022 net worth, calculated using a proprietary formula. 

LOOK: 25 fascinating vintage photos of the first Winter Olympic Games

The first-ever Winter Olympics were held in Chamonix, France, showcasing a variety of sports and athletes. Stacker assembled a collection of photos from those first Games.

LOOK: 20 American foods that raise eyebrows outside of the US

Stacker compiled a list of 20 unusual and uniquely American foods that might raise eyebrows outside the U.S.

More From 103.7 The Loon