A perfect title for this album, 'Classic Blue' for all the songs on it are indeed classic and somewhat blue.'Classic Blue' is the first Justin Hayward album in which none of the songs were written by him, it's an album of songs he covers from greats like, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Smokey Robinson, The Beach Boys etc...

It sounds really good, Justin covers, "Blackbird" (The Beatles), "Stairway To Heaven" (Led Zeppelin), "Whiter Shade of Pale" (Procol Harem) and "Vincent" (Don McLean) just to name a few.

Backup on the  tracks was provided by Mike Batt and The London Philharmonic Orchestra, in fact; Mike Batt produced the album as well.

It charted at #47 in the UK and is available on CD, LP and MP3.

The original CD track list:

  1. "The Tracks of My Tears"
  2. "MacArthur Park"
  3. "Blackbird"
  4. "Vincent"
  5. "God Only Knows"
  6. "Bright Eyes"
  7. "A Whiter Shade of Pale"
  8. "Scarborough Fair"
  9. "Railway Hotel"
  10. "Man of The World"
  11. "Forever Autumn"
  12. "As Long As the Moon Can Shine"
  13. "Stairway To Heaven"

Next up his album from 1996, 'The View From The Hill'

Attached is the video of Justin performing Don Mclean's, "Vincent".