Syd Barrett, YouTube


The birth of 'Opel' was because this album included eight songs that were recorded for , but were never included on the first two albums, 'The Madcap Laughs' and 'Barrett'. 'Opel' also includes six alternate takes.


From the start the album was supposed to have contained two unreleased Barrett songs specifically for Pink Floyd albums, but unfortunately the inclusion of those songs were not authorized by the band.

The album is on LP, CD, and MP3, plus the 2013 reissue includes bonus tracks as an addition that were released on a 1993 reissue. Seems like a lot of reissues going on here.

The track list:

  • "Opel"
  • "Clowns And Jugglers"
  • "Rats"
  • "Golden Hair"
  • "Dolly Rocker"
  • "Word Song"
  • "Wined And Dined"
  • "Swan Song (Silas Lang)"
  • "Birdie Hop"
  • "Let's Split"
  • "Lanky (Part One)"
  • "Wouldn't You Miss Me (Dark Globe)"
  • "Milky Way"
  • "Golden Hair"
  • "Gigolo Aunt" (Take 9)
  • "It Is Obvious" (Take 3)
  • "Clowns And Jugglers" (Take 1)
  • "Late Night" (Take 2)
  • "Effervescing Elephant" (Take 2)

Attached is the video of the song, "Swan Song (Silas Lang)', good stuff.