Richie Havens, YouTube

When 'Nobody Left to Crown' was released who'd a thought it would be his last, the album represents a pinnacle of Richie's very distinguished career.

'Nobody left To Crown',

Haven's was a genius in a way like no other by taking another artists song and creating that unexpected yet very moving self interpretation.

In 2008 Richie did an interview with JamBase and said, "I only know the first and last song I am going to sing when I go onstage because that is the way I have always done it. I was moved to do this and sing these songs. My whole thing was that I was sharing something with everyone else that was given to me."

Over the years Richie covered many songs by Bob Dylan and Lennon-McCartney and always gave them the special Haven's treatment. During his path of music justice he would even surprise us with say, a Barry Gibbs song, "I started A Joke", even Pete Townsend's, "Won't get Fooled Again."

For the sake of sentiment through listening this American musical treasure through his own interpretation, was the last by a great artist, Richie Havens.

'Nobody Left to Crown' CD Track List:

  • "The Key"
  • "Say it isn't So"
  • "Won't Get Fooled Again"
  • "Hurricane Waters"
  • "If I"
  • "Nobody Left to Crown"
  • "(Can't You Hear) Zeus's Anger Roar"
  • "Lives in the Balance"
  • "We All Know Now"
  • "Fates"
  • "The Great Mandala (The Wheel of Life)"
  • "One More Day"

'Nobody Left to Crown' is available on CD and MP3.

Ritchie Havens audio to the title track to his final album:


Click on each album for a direct link or the tabs at the bottom of each page.