COLLEGEVILLE -- A junior at the College of Saint Benedict has received a prestigious award.

Sydney Walker, a South Dakota native, was named one of just 58 Truman Scholars.

Get our free mobile app

The honor is in memory of former President Harry S. Truman and is awarded to students who demonstrate outstanding leadership potential, a commitment to a career in government or the nonprofit sector and academic excellence.

Walker was chosen from a pool of 705 students from 275 colleges and universities across the nation.

Scholars receive $30,000 to assist with graduate studies, leadership training, career counseling and/or special internship and fellowship opportunities within the federal government.

She is the second CSB student in three years to be named a Truman Scholar and just the sixth in school history. Other CSB students to achieve this honor include Valerie Doze (2020), Rachel Mullin (2013), Amy Hertel (1998), Emily Dahm (1996), and Peg McGlinch (1994).

Three SJU students have also won this honor including Tyler Brown (2014), Brendan Kelly (1998) and Daniel Boland (1996).

Since 1977, there have been 3,442 Truman Scholars nationwide.


10 Things All Minnesotans Can Relate to

More From 103.7 The Loon