Costa Rica has always been on my bucket list of countries I'd like to vacation in. Friends have told me that is is a paradise and fairly inexpensive.

World Cup Fans Gather To Watch Matches In Rio
Getty Images

Well, I may have to postpone any plans to travel to Costa Rica because, like just about everything else we took for granted in the past, the COVID-19 pandemic has put the kabash on traveling there from any states in the U.S. except several recently approved by the Costa Rican government.

Starting September 1st, only residents of New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine and Connecticut are allowed to enter the country.

Costa Rica closed their borders back in the middle of march after truckers from surrounding countries tested positive for the virus.

103.7 The Loon logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Costa Rica recently opened it's borders August 1st to a set of countries officials deemed to be at low risk. Residents from the European Union, the UK, Canada, Uruguay, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, China, Australia and New Zealand are all allowed to travel to Costa Rica.

Costa Rica, like every other vacation spot in the world, has suffered from the loss of tourism during the pandemic. In an effort to get back on track financially, they hope to entice some Americans tourists to give the local economy a boost.

The country is also assessing the COVID infection rates in Colorado, Massachusetts and Pennsylvania to determine if residents from those states will be allowed to travel there.

Hopefully, Minnesota can get it together and get added to the list.

(Fox9 News)

Old Holdingford Chuch Converted Into Private Home


More From 103.7 The Loon